Asian Noodle Salad from Whole Foods

Today is a happy day because I was able to duplicate my favorite entree from the buffet counter at Whole Foods in Campbell. I always pay $6.50 for a teeny tiny box of these delicious spicy noodles, and I rarely ever share, partly because my son’s allergies limit him from this dish…but that’s not the real reason. It’s the perfect balance of tart and spicy and I want it all for myself! So I took a picture if the ingredients label, bought the supplies, and came home to make it gluten free, vegan, and nut-free!

The label read: Asian Noodle Salad – spaghettini, carrots, scallions, sesame seeds, dressing (soy sauce, sesame oil, lime juice, garlic, ginger, cilantro, vegan worcestershire sauce, chili flakes), pepper flakes.

I used my favorite gluten free vegan pasta by Ancient Grain, omitted the super finely grated carrots and sesame seeds, then started mixing to get this recipe:
4T gluten free organic soy sauce
4T toasted organic sesame oil
1T + 2t freshly squeezed lime juice
1t garlic powder
1/2t ground ginger
fresh cilantro, chopped
1t vegan worcestershire sauce (omit if you can’t find this gluten free)
1/2t chili flakes

Mix together and pour over cooked noodles! I cooked 8 oz of pasta, so I had a few tablespoons of dressing left over to use on a shaker salad for later this week.

20130702-065734.jpg

Leave a Reply

