Gluten Free Vegan Chocolate Chip Scones

Last night I was in the mood to try out my new cast iron scone pan that I had to have many many months ago that I have yet to use. After dusting it off, I decided to try out a Strawberry Lemon Scones with Lemon Glaze recipe I’d printed out. The only problem was that I didn’t have lemons, strawberries, or oats to make oat flour, so I improvised.

I made a few substitutions and assumed that my creation would end up in the trash just like they have over the past few months. Seriously, the reason for my lack of posts was because nothing was turning out well! Low and behold, last night’s scones were excellent! I substituted apple cider vinegar instead of lemon juice, I used brown rice flour instead of oat flour, I needed to use about 1/4-1/2 cup more of non dairy milk to create slightly sticky dough, and I threw in half a bag of Enjoy chocolate chips at the end. I probably could have made two batches, but instead I overfilled the pan and had to bake them for 20 minutes instead of the recommended 15-17 minutes. The result was delicious!

Everyone in the house enjoyed them — except for the one child that I have to make these special concoctions for. Never a dull moment in the Frances home! (My apologies for one of the half-eaten scones. The kids couldn’t resist!)

Image

Leave a Reply

