Decadent Chocolate Pie

This past Saturday we celebrated my grandmother’s 100th birthday at Maggiano’s in Santana Row. At the end of the night we are always bombarded with unlimited full-size desserts, so my usual allergy-free cupcake or cookie for my son wasn’t going to cut it this time. I saw a great pie recipe I’d been wanting to try, and there were so few ingredients that I was actually able to throw it together with what I had on hand! Behold, the Chilled Dark Chocolate Pie with Toasted Almond Crust and Strawberry Vanilla Compote.

My can of coconut milk was in the cupboard, so I threw it in the fridge for two hours to harden it up and separate the fat from the cream. I used a double boiler to melt the Enjoy chocolate chips and coconut milk, then poured it into the almond crust that took no time at all to bake and prepare. The majority of the time I spent was waiting for the pie to set in the freezer! It transported perfectly to the party, and it was a hit among all the other party-goers who had differing allergies, such as gluten and dairy. That’s one of the huge benefits to cooking allergy-free is that you cater to so many more people than when you bake for only your family’s allergies alone.

Image

By the way, want to know my grandma’s secret for living a healthy life for at least a hundred years? Lots of fruits, veggies, and always stay active. She mowed her own law with a push-mower until she was 80, she walked through the neighborhood until she was 90, and she lived on her own until she was 99, which is when her wonderful caretaker Pauline joined her and brought new life to her. Her most recent project is planting and watching watermelons grow for the first time in her life. ❤

2 thoughts on “Decadent Chocolate Pie

    • Haha, no, she is a proud meat-eater. One year my brother brought his girlfriend who was vegan, so my grandma offered her the sausage instead of the meatballs. Good memories!!

Leave a Reply

