Homemade Herbal Remedies

My son was up a few times on Wednesday night with a cough, so I woke up early to put together a few homemade herbal remedies for him. I recently took an 8-week class called Beginning with Herbs hosted by Sweet Herb Medicinals, and it was an amazing, empowering class. I now have my own tiny apothecary of herbs and spices that I’ve been dying to put to work. My children have been bragging lately about how they don’t get sick because they get frequent doses of Fire Cyder (also known as Cyclone Cider on the SHM website) and Elderberry Syrup, which has kept them immune throughout the school year. When I see sick children around them, I increase their doses of my immunity-building treats, and they stay healthy. The key is to catch the illness as soon as there are any symptoms.

So this morning I was proactive and started looking through my favorite kidsherbbookherbal book called A Kid’s Herb Book: For Children of All Ages — and this book has been perfect for me in my beginning stages of herbs. I am gaining more knowledge and comfort with the basic 13 herbs discussed in the book, and I purchased each of the herbs mentioned, so I always have them on hand. The best sources to purchase herbs and supplies are from Pacific Botanicals and Mountain Rose Herbs.

Since my son had a cough with phlegm and wasn’t feeling hot or cold, I made him the following:

HERBAL TEA FOR COUGH herbalteamullein

1 tsp mullein, 1/2 tsp elder berries, 1/2 tsp elder flowers, 1 tsp wild cherry bark, 1/2 tsp licorice root, and let it steep for 3-5 minutes in 1 1/2 cups of water.

HERBAL SYRUP FOR COUGH herbalsyrupmullein

1 ounce of the following herbs: mullein, licorice root, wild cherry bark, elder berries, elder flowers, medicinal ginger spice, and lemon balm, then I simmered in water until reduced, then added raw organic agave syrup (because I ran out of raw local honey), and organic vegetable glycerine.

HERBAL PILLS FOR COUGH herbalgoocough

The herbs used for these herbal pills are marshmallow root, licorice root, fennel seed,
and astragalus root, combined and sweetened with with raw organic agave. The picture shown is solid form prior to baking the pills. We call this herbal “goo” that can be kept in its solid form in the refrigerator for up to six months instead of taking the extra time to measure, form, and bake these pills.

It may have been overkill with all of these different options considering he was barely sick, but I left him home with the babysitter today, and I didn’t want it to be stressful to remember when to take what, so I wanted him to take whichever one of the three options above he felt like taking every few hours.

Low and behold, these herbal remedies really did work, and I’m happy to report that his illness did not progress. Usually when my kids start out with a cold, they always end up with the croup for several days. Because I now pay close attention to symptoms, I am able to combat the start of the illness at the onset and keep it from getting more severe.

I’m pretty much in love with all of my newfound herbal knowledge, and I highly recommend learning from an herbalist, so you also can offer your family that extra level of customized health care.

*Disclaimer: This information is not designed to and does not provide medical advice, professional diagnosis, opinion, treatment or services to you or to any other individual. This is general information for educational purposes only.

Leave a Reply

