The Oh She Glows Cookbook! (and what I “gave up” for Lent)

Today is the first day of Lent that is marked by Ash Wednesday in the Catholic Church. Usually people talk about what they are going to give up for Lent, and this year I have decided to identify what I can eliminate that is going to make me better. I have decided to turn off social networking sites Facebook and Instagram and spend more time focusing on this blog and trying out new recipes that make the tummies of my family very happy.

I also created a mock Instagram account, so I can continue to document daily happenings of my life since most of my photo albums contain my Instagram-filtered-and-captioned photos. Today, my 9-year old daughter ran to school for the first time — 2 miles in under 16 minutes! And, my husband and I spoke to a Psychology of Marriage class at my Alma Mater, Santa Clara University, for the fourth year in a row. We received so much positive feedback from the class, and this is my favorite quote from one of the students (another offered to be our babysitter!):

I feel like I took a lot away from their experiences and many of the things they said will resonate with me. It definitely helped to bring the course material to life and really put what we’ve been learning in perspective.

Arun and I enjoying the beautiful Santa Clara University campus with the Mission Church in the background.

Arun and I enjoying the beautiful Santa Clara University campus with the Mission Church in the background. He was super happy to be there 🙂

Once I returned to my office, I was checking out a few food websites to find a link to my FAVORITE salad dressing recipe that I served last night at a dinner party I hosted that featured an authentic Spanish seafood paella made with wild seafood by my mother in law, plus a kale salad with Raw Red Pepper and Ginger Salad Dressing. redpepperandgingersaladdressing

That’s when I realized that one of my favorite bloggers, Angela Liddon, launched her brand new cookbook today called The Oh She Glows Cookbook, ohsheglowscookbooknamed after her blog entitled Oh she Glows! I can only imagine that she chose only the best of the best recipes, and I can’t wait to pick up my copy. She is one of the few gluten-free, vegan bloggers whose recipes are 100% consistent and delicious every single time. I arrived at work this morning and saw that my sister had a copy sitting on her desk because she pre-ordered it! I sifted through it for a bit, and there is a picture for every single recipe in the cookbook — SCORE!!

On this Ash Wednesday, it must be an omen for me to buy a copy ASAP to support the fabulous recipes she has on her blog. Can’t wait to get cookin’ and show you what’s in store!

xoxo

5 thoughts on “The Oh She Glows Cookbook! (and what I “gave up” for Lent)

  1. You’re such an inspiration! I love reading what’s going on with the fam bam! And I, too, am going to have to pick up that cookbook! YUMMM!

  2. Pingback: Dairy-Free Alfredo Sauce (and Stanford University’s “All About Food Allergies” Talk) | May We Be Allergy-Free

Leave a Reply

