Dairy-Free Alfredo Sauce

Tuesday night I experienced an amazing moment. I put together a Cauli-Power Alfredo Sauce in the Vitamix, and I took my first taste test. HEAVEN.

alfredosauce

Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free, Egg-Free Alfredo Sauce

I have never tasted anything so similar to the rich, full flavor of dairy, cream, and cheese since eating the real thing. It was crazy because my first taste actually made my brain think “Uh oh, you’re going to pay for this tomorrow” but then I realized there is NO dairy in this full flavor sauce! So I proudly strolled over to my daughter and asked her to try it. She looked at me with caution (as usual), and tasted it. Immediately her face lit up, and she exclaimed how good it was! My allergy-ridden son has never tasted anything like this, and he was overwhelmed. Even the youngest ate it! I was so excited about it that I even made it with my K/1 cooking class the following day and served it over fettuccine, and the students had 3-5 servings each! Good thing I bought two pounds of pasta! The best part is that I had all the ingredients on hand, and it was so fast. I think the most important part is sauteing the garlic in olive oil and adding that to the blender, so be sure not to skip that part — it made the house smell amazing and tasted so good. Be sure to serve it warm, and a little goes a long way. I looked back to find out where I originally found this recipe, and of course, it’s from Angela Liddon — my favorite blogger from Oh She Glows. Be sure to check out her Oh She Glows Cookbook if you haven’t already!

chocolatechipblondies

Chocolate Chip Blondies

I was also in the mood to try a new Chocolate Chip Blondie recipe, but I didn’t love it. The kids enjoyed it, and they put the rest in their lunches for the following day, but I’m still looking for recipe I adore…

On another note, Stanford University’s SAFAR (Stanford Alliance for Food Allergy Research) Program hosts a cutting edge allergy research program that has been extremely successful helping children eliminate the most severe allergies, and they are hosting an upcoming talk entitled All About Food Allergies in Palo Alto on May 22, 2014 at 7pm. Register if you’d like to attend this free informative event about the latest in allergy research and clinical trials.  You can also find out more about screenings for upcoming clinical trials on their website. I have worked closely with the SAFAR  Community Council for the last year, and I do all of the t-shirt printing for their annual Summer Scamper Kids Fun Run/5k/10k  fsummerscamperlogoundraiser on June 22, 2014. Support their allergy-research efforts and donate or walk/run in the scamper and enter code FRIENDS to receive $5 off your registration before April 18th. Hope to see you there!

2 thoughts on “Dairy-Free Alfredo Sauce

  1. Finally commenting here. I made the Cauli-power alfredo and it was a massive hit in this house. I usually like to judge recipes by how good they are the second day, but my husband ate all of the leftovers before I even got around to my lunch… He didn’t even ask if I wanted any. It was kind of mean!!!

    • Thank you for posting this! It reminded me how fabulous this recipe is, so I made it again last week, and we ate it over three nights, plus put it in lunches. Always a hit. It would probably be wonderful in a pasta casserole in lieu of cheese or as pizza sauce!

Leave a Reply

