Authentic Spanish Rice

We celebrated my mother’s birthday last weekend with an amazing authentic Mexican food dinner hosted by my sister.

On the left: adult-friendly rice with red bell peppers and peas / On the right: kid-friendly rice without bell peppers and peas

On the left: adult-friendly rice with red bell peppers and peas / On the right: kid-friendly rice without bell peppers and peas

She made fantastic tacos, so I offered to make one of my only signature dishes: Authentic Spanish Rice. I came across this recipe years ago, and it has never failed me. I do exactly as the recipe states, I buy only top-quality ingredients, and it never disappoints. One year I tried doubling the recipe, and that didn’t work out too well — it took so long to brown the rice, so this year I made two batches: one for adults with red bell peppers and peas, and one for the kids that did not have any of the extra vegetables.

I usually don’t use the granulated chicken base (not sure why not, but I suppose I just skipped over it without realizing), but I tried it this time by using crumbled bouillon and found the dish way too salty. Maybe base is different than bouillon? Regardless, I’ve never needed it before and sure didn’t miss it this time.  It’s easy to veganize this dish by using vegetable broth instead of chicken. The rice didn’t do justice to my sister’s tacos, but it was a most satisfying contribution to the celebration. And boy do I love me some leftovers!

2 thoughts on “Authentic Spanish Rice

Leave a Reply

