Zucchini Bread Muffins

I was the cooking parent for my 3-year old’s preschool class last week, and I was in charge of zucchini muffins. Well, I have recipes for zucchini bread, but not muffins, and I Googled numerous recipes for “gluten-free” and “vegan” but couldn’t find anything muffin-related. Just quick breads. Since I don’t know how to cook with eggs, flour, butter, or dairy any more, I had to improvise. So I looked to one of my favorite bloggers, Tessa the Domestic Diva, because her recipes are always amazing, and I scoured her site. The recipe for Zucchini Bread (gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, nut-free, peanut-free, soy-free, vegan) was the closest I could find, so I doubled it and took a chance.

zucchinibreadmuffins

Zucchini Bread Muffins

I put a generous tablespoon of the batter into miniature muffin cup liners and baked these little suckers for a full 18-20 minutes. I was surprised how long they cooked, but they came out super moist and delicious. They were a hit among the preschoolers, leading some parents to believe their super picky children were secretly vegan!

The only thing I did that her recipe didn’t mention was I squeezed out all the excess water from the shredded zucchini before I added it to the wet ingredients. I put it in a strainer and pressed on it until the water stopped being released. Zucchini is already so moist that I didn’t want to end up with super dense, soggy muffins. I also shredded the zucchini with the tiniest blade because the last thing toddlers want is big chunks of zucchini in their “dessert.”

We were on a field trip at Hidden Villa, a working farm, and the kids also found miner’s lettuce that they happily enjoyed along the trail. minerslettuctacosMy son already was snacking on cherry tomatoes, so he made miner’s lettuce tacos with a tomato in the center. Precious.

 

On the hike, he was running and slipped and fell, skidding up both arms. This is a very sad Tait. But fortunately, he found another use for the dew on the miner’s lettuce and used it as a band-aide to make his boo boo feel better. minerslettucebandaideHeart melting.

Leave a Reply

