Chocolate Dipped Rosemary Shortbread Cookies (gluten-free, dairy-free, egg-free, soy-free, peanut-free, nut-free, vegan)

I am very fond of my neighborhood rosemary bushes. I have an ongoing relationship with my neighbors, and they give me a delighted nod every time they see me picking their rosemary without asking. I don’t know if it’s the rosemary that I love or if it’s the sense of community that I feel by eating local organic herbs harvested among friends.

rosemarycookies1

Holiday Cookies – Chocolate Dipped Rosemary Shortbread

A recipe for rosemary cookies came through my inbox recently, and after careful review, I decided to make it gluten free! I used the same principles I applied when I made homemade baked goldfish crackers gluten free by replacing the all purpose flour with three different gluten flours — two medium weight and one lightweight. The types I chose weren’t too scientific, they were basically whatever I had on hand.

I was actually surprised by how challenging this dough was to work with. When I make these again, I will make them a day in advance and wait at least an hour in between each rolling and cutting session. The cookies that were the sturdiest and had the best shape were the ones that were the hardest when using the cookie cutter and transferring them to the baking sheet.

Easily, these cookies were the hit of the party. It was wonderful eating seasonal herbs right from our neighborhood, but they were so simple and delicious that everyone raved about them. And to think, I only brought them so my allergy-ridden son would have a dessert option. That’s the stuff that makes me smile!

Sarah’s Chocolate Dipped Rosemary Shortbread Cookies
Recipe adapted from Sarah McMinn’s guest post on Keepin’ It Kind

rosemarycookies2

Baking sheet lined with chocolate dipped rosemary cookies

Shortbread Ingredients

  • 2/3 c oat flour
  • 2/3 c brown rice flour
  • 2/3 tapioca flour
  • 1 tablespoon fresh rosemary, minced
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup Earth Balance sticks
  • 1/2 cup organic powdered sugar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
Chocolate Dipping Ingredients
  • 6 ounces Enjoy Chocolate Chips
  • fresh rosemary sprigs

Tools

  • rolling pin
  • parchment paper
  • baking sheets

Instructions

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
  2. Combine the flour, salt and rosemary in a food processor and pulse a few times until well blended and the rosemary is evenly dispersed.
  3. In a stand up mixer combine butter and powdered sugar. Beat for a solid five minutes, scraping down the sides as needed. Add vanilla and flour mixture and combine just until the dough comes together.
  4. Turn dough onto a floured piece of parchment paper. Place another piece of parchment paper on top. Roll out the dough, using the parchment paper between the dough and rolling pin, to keep it from sticking. Place the flattened dough in the refrigerator for one hour.
  5. Remove the dough from the refrigerator, and use a cookie cutter in the shape of your chocie to cut the cookies and place them on baking sheets lined with parchment paper.
  6. Return to cookie cut outs to the refrigerator for 20-30 more minutes.
  7. Bake for 16-20 minutes or until the edges begin to turn golden brown. Remove from oven and let cool completely before handling.
  8. For optional chocolate drizzle, melt chocolate in a double boiler or microwave in 30 second increments until melted. Use a pastry brush to evenly distribute the chocolate along the side of the cookie you choose. Add two small sprigs of rosemary for decor.
rosemarycookies3

A couple tiny sprigs of rosemary added for decor!

Leave a Reply

